Engineering Marvel

by Norman Leibovitz

In just one week, I did two awesome activities.

1. I sat in the AFT cockpit of the F-16 while we’re doing our checks with the engine operating. Closest I’ve been to being a pilot 😉

And, did I also mention that I got to “play” with the side-stick and “kicked” the rudder, except the throttle 😦

It’s really is an amazing feeling looking at all the flight controls coming to life, moving in perfect harmony, while the engine roars in sync with the flight instruments. It indeed is an engineering marvel.

Majority of the time, the aircrafts are “dead” when I’m working in it. Getting to control it and looking at it move makes me feel that what I’ve done the past year, all the late nights, the sweat and blood are all worth it. They actually works and I can prove that!

2. I also went to ST Aerospace the following day. That place is like a Disneyland, but for planes. I saw the stripped and naked Airbus, being put together, piece by piece. Planes with paint that are yet to be coated on. Titanium, raw titanium.
I also saw rows and rows of commercial planes from companies like Air Japan, Lufthansa and many many more including the RSAF!

That aside, most importantly, we went there for a mission. Completing it swiftly with precision. Glad we did, just like the humming bird #815squadron

It’s really nice to know how much mankind has came with science and technologies, improving our life greatly.  Looking at planes taking off really makes me wonder how we’ve come to far, since 1903 till today. It really gives me a sense of achievement ❤ Thanks for inventing planes though! #embracingtechnologies