Canon 70D

by Norman Leibovitz

And so.. I got myself a new camera!! A Canon.. After 6 years.. LOL

So the story starts from when i went to Mount Bromo (Clink link here) and you will know that I dropped my Canon S100 compact camera and getting it fixed would cost me a huge sum of money! So, Canon 70D? WHY NOT!

So hyper about it!

So hyper about it!

Canon then gave me some options to trade in my broken camera for a really pathetic value.

Some of the options i was given was G7X, G16? or was it G17 and some DSLR. But they’re all valued at the suggested retail price, which is much higher then the street price! So.. Nope!

And because of the SAF50, I’m in the AAR(Action After Review) team which requires us to film the parade and to pin point the “mistakes” the participant make and I was exposed to some really nice footages on the 60D, 600D and 6D! HOLY MOLY! LOL And it strikes me that heyyyy this might really be what i want! LOL

But my main concern for a camera when i travel is weight!! Which only mean a few things. Compact camera(S100/G7X) or GoPro! But neither these are cheap!

G7X is 700 while GoPro is 599 (or GoPro Hero 199)

Canon 70D

Canon 70D

GoPro Vs Canon 70D

I was contemplating between getting one of the option above mainly because the GoPro Hero is cheap (and good) but ended up with the Canon 70D!

Although weight is my top priority, but the canon is much more versatile when compared to the GoPro. It features a flip out touch screen LCD which is helpful for me (touch to focus/touch to shoot) when filming some travel vlogs and photos.

And since it’s a DSLR, i get to choose from the many many lenses Canon offers which means i can bring one less equipment when i travel! Because photo and video all in one! Also, with those lenses, you know, you can do those “creative” stuff LOL! How smart!

Canon 70D also offers those powerful and chim technical Digic 5 + processor and some cross section autofocus thing which I can’t be bothered but all i know is that it’s good.

On top of that i can also use it for some freelance stuff, which i might be doing really soon! The fun stuff are coming!!

I might get the GoPro, it’s good, but not so soon..